There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the quality of education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the increase in student numbers at university?

While university education is no longer considered as a luxury nowadays, in the past, only privilieged individuals were able to do so. To that extent, many people believe that it has positive impact within the community, others, however, believe that the quality of education is deteriorating because of it. In this essay, I will explain the positive impact of the increasing amount of students going to universities as well as the drawbacks. Increasing number of universities students has lots of benefits. Firstly, the increasing number of educated people creates better society. Many studies have shown that the crime rate is negatively correlated to the education level of a society. Secondly, more educated people improves the nation's economy. Educated people are more productive and they bring more value to their country's economy. Despite the benefits, it also comes with a few drawbacks. To begin with, the teaching process inside the classroom is not going to be effective. People understand things in different ways, but since the teachers have to teach many students, the method of teaching is becoming more general and not personalized. Furthermore, more student creates more competition and it might pressure the students. The stress of competition might cause the students to cheat in order to get better score Therefore, the purpose of education will not be fulfilled because students focus more on grades than on learning. In conclusion, more people are going to universities today then it was before. Even though some people believe that this is a good thing, others believe that it also has some drawbacks.