Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Several individuals believe that the college pupils should learn what they are interested in, meanwhile others realize that universities should prioritize advantageous subjects that are taught to students. In my opinion, while the concept of usefulness of a subject is debatable, I support that a more interest-based will be more beneficial to students. On the one hand, the disparity of majors brings an innovative learning process which is expected to be able to support the competence of higher education graduates to be a superior generation who are able to work splendidly according to their passions and competencies. For example, students who are interested in the arts will develop their talents more deeply compared to when they learn other programs that they detest because it will make them more frustrated. In addition, the diversity of fields are assumed to balance the supply and demand of job vacancy varieties. On the other hand, having a compulsory lesson at university can force students to learn more and more inventively, especially in the fields of science and technology. Additionally, by studying those, they are honing their technical abilities for a more promising future. For example, most large companies today prioritize graduates who have the ability in the field of technology development. Moreover, they are also believed to have higher salaries compared to those who are proficient in administrative science. To sum up, in my view, the universities should determine the programs that suit the recent vacancies, which must be balanced with the market of the prospective students ’ interest.