Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Globalisation has opened up new avenues for business in this contemporary society. Hence, due to the competition between organisations, the majority of employers are trying to attract the best graduates. During the selection process, a few recruiters have less concern for personal development apart from academic achievements. This essay will further elaborate on this headway with the merits and demerits using relevant examples. To begin with, there have been radical changes in the commercial world throughout the last decade. According to the world bank data depicted, a person with at least a bachelor's degree has a significant contribution to workplace success rather than a high-school dropout. On the other hand, behavioural scientists have proved with facts that a university education can improve students' strategic thinking. To cite an example, an individual with a master's degree can take better decisions in critical conditions by applying theoretical knowledge. Moreover, profit-oriented businesses are not willing to spend money on training someone from the start, whereas it is cheaper for them to invest in an employee who has basic skills. Irrespective of the education level, there can be benefits and drawbacks to such action. First of all, as an effect of high demand, there can be more fresh graduates in the future. On the flip side, there will be an unbalanced workforce with a disproportionate number of white-collar and blue-collar occupations. Furthermore, managers are losing creative, practical and ambitious workers. To exemplify this, an employee can make accurate predictions based on this hands-on experience in spite of his lack of academic qualifications. To sum up, companies need workers who are aligned with their vision, where education qualification should be one evaluation requirement. These people are honest with the company and protect its reputation at no cost.