Not enough students around the world choose to study science subjects at university. What are the reasons for this? What impact does this issue have on society?

Fields of science has unlocked many mysteries of the world. The keys to such discoveries are made by ones that had allocated their time studying sciences. Unfortunately, recent data suggests that not enough people are studying science subject in university. This essay suggests the reasons behind such issue comes from the limited access to profession in sciences, followed by stating the impacts involving underemployment and the lack of improvement in the science field.  When people are looking for their future profession, it is often focused on how to get their, and what the task would be involved. In regards to science profession, there is a strong stigma that all learners become scientists. Despite this being an false representation of all post-graduates, this idea can put people back from taking the subject. Furthermore, university courses often has higher application requirement when it comes to science subject. For instance, medicine courses in UK requires full A grades to even make an application. With regards to the question of what consequences this situation would cause, I imagine that it would involve disproportionate allocation of human resources. Since the demand of workers with science degree would rise, it may cause brain drain in countries which general wadges are low, creating further knowledge gap between wealthy and poor countries. Moreoever, with overall less numbers of people with knowledge of science, scientific improvement would drop drastically. This can result in difficulties overcoming problems that involves professional knowledge, such as the extreme weather issues. In conclusion, the minute number of students involved in science field comes as a consequence of a narrow access to science professions. Impacting the society by detoriating wealth gaps, and pulling back away from scientific breakthrough.