It is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, furnishing the young generation with higher education plays an indispensable role in most national policies. However, some people believe that pursuing tertiary education for the majority of youngsters is not only impossible but also disadvantageous. From my perspective, I completely agree with this statement for the following reasons. To begin with, not all young people have the opportunity to attend universities or colleges, especially those who live in developing countries. In fact, financial difficulties prevent many people from pursuing their higher education. This is particularly the case for those learners who are unable to afford prohibitive tuition fees. Additionally, the government needs to build educational facilities and infrastructure for learning. Nevertheless, many countries do not even meet basic requirements such as food and healthcare. Furthermore, there are numerous drawbacks when a wide range of young people enter university. This preferential policy causes a shortage of manual workers while the young generation with adequate knowledge and skills will not apply for these positions. To illustrate, drivers or construction workers will be understaffed while the unemployment rate is increasing as machines gradually replace humans. As a result, it leads to a huge imbalance in the labour market. In conclusion, it’s my firm belief that it is both unfeasible and unhelpful for a country to provide entry to tertiary education for a large percentage of young people.