several languages are in danger of extinct because they are spoken by very small number of people. some people say tgat governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe taht would be a waste of money. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some languages are at the edge of extinction due to their low applications. Some people appeal to the governments for subsidies to keep them in use, while others consider it a squander. My opinion is more inclined to the latter. Here are my reasons. To begin with, it is a must for the government to spend money on "the edge of the blade" instead of any other place. Otherwise, it will spark public outrage. For example, if politicians provide subsidies for dialects, the rest money available to spend on economic, educational and military development would be less compared to those who spend 100% on these crucial factors for a city. In that case, such a region would be less attractive to entrepreneurs and educators, which means gaining less crucial resources than the other cities. Besides, due to the grudges against those politicians, a host of citizens would like to leave for a more developed place to make a better living. Furthermore, the globalisation trend is irresistible, and it is the youngsters rather than the government that determine which ones to keep. For instance, My friend Xiao Ming from Macao knows Mandarin, English and his regional dialect Cantonese. With globalisation, he found a steady increase in the usage of English and Mandarin in the neighbourhood due to the skyrocketing amount of tourists and new residents. Meanwhile, Xiao Ming realised Cantonese was hard to use and comprehend compared to the former two which, at last, was kept by him. To summarise, from my perspective, languages close to extinction shall not be saved. Firstly, it may be costly and hinder the major development of cities. Secondly, we are not able to, and thus should not resist the "Darwin's law" of languages. I hope this essay can provide a guide to those youngsters who are born in those regions with extinct dialects and are facing a choice of whether to keep them in use or not.