Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People hold different opinions about what subjects undergraduates should learn at universities. While some people claim that students should be tasked with academic subjects such as science or technology, I still hold that they should be incentivized to study subjects they want to pursue. On the one hand, it is understandable why some individuals argue that it is beneficial for college students to study certain subjects. To begin with, being qualified for an academic profession such as a scientist or technician makes it easier for them to seek jobs due to the high workforce demand. For example, in the covid-19 pandemic, postgraduates with a bachelor's degree in science may be more sought-after than designers since they are believed to be potentially helpful in inventing new medicines to cope with contagious diseases. As a result, these students could quickly find a job and be employed. However, not every student is willing to study these academic subjects as they are quite theoretical and tedious. If they are forced to study subjects that they do not like, they are more likely to drop out of school. On the other hand, I firmly believe that students should be free to choose their majors. Firstly, when undergraduates can choose their preferred subjects, they will be motivated to finish their course despite some difficulties during the process. Therefore, they are more likely to have excellent academic performance, which may impress interviewers in the future. Secondly, studying favourite subjects helps college students become more insightful compared to those without passion, and consequently, they can accomplish their work with proficiency and accuracy. Should it not be for favouritism, university students will not be inspired to study comprehensively. In conclusion, although forcing college students to study academic subjects such as science or technology may offer them lucrative careers, I vehemently think that its benefits pale in comparison with the advantages of allowing students to study their favourite subjects in terms of academic results and proficiency.