The rising levels of traffic congestion in many big cities around the world can cause the decline in the quality of life in cities. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve them?

It is argued that globally, urban life quality is being eroded by the increase in traffic congestion.In my opinion,people succumbing to comfort is one of the main causative factors for this phenomenon,and societies and governments could take steps to mitigate the following issue. It is reasonable to assume that an increasing number of individuals choosing to live a more comfortable life can be held responsible for the heavy traffic in cities.To elucidate further,despite the availability of public transport, people still opt to purchase private cars for convenience reasons,since buses and trains could not reach the exact desired locations and further walking will be required. For example,statistics have shown that workers with high salaries would buy their own cars rather than use public transportation services. Thus, traffic congestion occurs as the result of the urban dwellers favouring simplicity and comfort. As a first step, governments could establish harder driving tests and add multiple steps in the process of receiving a license so that not everyone with massive financial resources could acquire the permission to drive. For example,in Japan,procuring a driving license is a lengthy process and therefore,residents prefer to use public transport.By promoting and educating people about the environmental benefits of using public transport, governments can mitigate the rise in traffic. For example,government officials informing inhabitants dwelling in metropolitan areas about the benefits they could experience if the total private car usage is reduced could be effective. In conclusion,from my perspective,pursuing convenient methods could ultimately result in a worse quality of lifestyle and authorities could introduce laws and campaigns to solve these problems.