In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is true that in some countries, some people highly support the use of money largely and mainly on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains across the cities. In contrast, others have different opinion of how more urgent it is for some countries to upgrade their existing public transportations rather than spend it on trains construction. This essay will discuss both perspectives to why it is more important to spend more money on establishing new railway lines high-speed trains. In many developed countries, their technology in transportation is mainly used on constructing trains. Japan, as an example of one of the most up-to-date countries in the world, has already had so many high-tech fast railways. In fact, the majority of society there use high speed trains on daily basis. High speed rail has been proven to be many times more energy efficient than any other kind of private or public transportation even for the airplanes. This is a very good news because it can decrease air pollution caused by the use of transportation. Not to mention, riding high speed rails instead of busses will cost a little and more time-saving, so people can get to and from work more efficiently. For this reason, the people there will not mind if the country spend more finances on improving new railway lines for high-speed trains between cities. On the other hand, some citizens in developing countries do not really like to use trains. The citizens in developing countries still prefer to use cars or motorcycles. The people feel safer and more-free to do their business by travelling by driving cars or riding motorcycle. In Indonesia, for instance, there are still many flaws on the ordinary rail facilities let alone the high speed one. Indonesia only has Bandung-Jakarta fast train. Compared to Japanese, Indonesian will likely choose to improve another public transportation that are already highly used such as busses so it will be more comfortable. In the end, spending more funds to build new railway lines for every train should be more profitable than using it on another public transportations judging by the effectiveness of the time and money. Not only that, by using fast trains to travel, it is more environmental-friendly. Therefore, it will be wiser to work up on train development particularly on the fast speed type.