Some people go shopping as a form of recreation. It has replaced the other activities that people used to do as hobbies. Is this a positive or negative development? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, shopping becomes a trend among youths. Earlier, people do many activities in their free time and now they prefer to do shopping in their free time. I think it has both positive and negative aspects of this trend. This essay will discuss my viewpoints in the forthcoming paragraphs. To begin with, there are some advantages of doing shopping. Firstly, people are more aware of new fashion and trends. They get the chance to know about other cultures. Some people prefer to do window shopping which really makes their mood better. For instance, In Newyork, a survey conducted by the Youth association club found that 67% of youths prefer to do shopping to relax. Moreover, they also found that they have less pressure in their life because they feel stress-free after shopping either window or actual. Hence, people prefer to do shopping to keep their mood happy. On the other hand, I personally believe that there are some drawbacks of doing shopping in leisure time. First, most people are becoming bankrupt due to excess expenses. They use credit cards to fulfil their needs later on they are not able to pay their bills. Second, People do not interact with other hobbies such as gardening, playing, cooking and so on. They do not know the values of such hobbies in their leisure time. In malls, they just waste their time. For instance, a survey found that 77% of Indians waste their money on purchasing unnecessary things. They follow their idol and copy them. To conclude, in my opinion, I believe that this trend has both positive and negative effects. People should spend money on necessary things and they should save it for future purposes.