In some countries, there is not enough respect for elderly people. Why is this the case? Suggest some solutions. Write 250 words.

These days in some countries, respect for elderly people is not enough. In this essay, reasons for this phenomenon will be analysed and relevant solutions will be provided as well. The causes of lack of respect for elder people are manifold. First, more and more young people are losing traditional values. It is true that traditional values such as respecting the elderly are disappearing amongst youngsters. Further, the modern belief system values success based on how much money a person makes. It is obvious that elderly people have retired and do not make money anymore; hence young people stop respecting them at the same time. Thirdly, because of the increasing average life expectancy, there are more and more elderly people in the society. Apparently, this trend makes elderly people less valued by others. On the basis of the above reasoning, comprehensive solutions have been identified. The first solution is reinforcing traditional values and beliefs. It is evident that schools should teach young people more about traditional ideas so that youngsters can better understand the importance of traditional wisdom and virtues. The next solution is educating the general public. To be more specific, it is time for the government to correct the moneyoriented money-oriented mindset among citizens. The final solution is raising the awareness about respect in general. For instance, the community should promote the significance of respect for the elderly so that youngsters can be aware of why they must respect senior citizens. To sum up, varied reasons have given rise to the absence of respect for elderly people, thus I firmly believe steps such as reinforcing traditional values, correcting the money-oriented mindset and raising the awareness about respect must be taken to tackle the worrisome situation.