Nowadays both men and women spend a lot of money on beauty care. This was not so in the past. What may be the root cause of this behaviour? Discuss the reasons and possible results.

Beauty has become of paramount importance these days, thus creating new generations that are obsessed with their physique and images. This is the result of social media, in, the fact they have created adolescents who only care about their appearances; there are other reasons that could explain this trend such as fashion shows and the fashion industry. Firstly, globalization has permitted the sharing of information at a speed that was unknown until today, thus causing our youth to be obsessed with one another. In addition, the beauty standards have changed, in fact from the beginning of the twenty-one century, thin women started to appear in all magazines, creating models to look up to. Moreover, fashion shows have reinforced this idea, causing the rise of eating disorders, also in pre-adolescent teens. For instance, the moment you open Instagram you are overwhelmed by the photos of beautiful, thin, perfect women who seem the representation of Goddesses. This created false standards in the minds of young, suggestible teens and thus increased their desire to be just like those women. Additionally, the fashion industry has not helped us, in, the fact it started to change sizes in order to make them smaller and smaller, thus making it impossible for 'normal' human beings to fit in. Then, they also created a judgemental environment in which you are afraid of your size, because it is unacceptable to wear a size higher than a 40. For example, there are some stylists such as Elisabetta Franchi that have been widely criticized since the sizes of her clothes do not match the reality, in, fact women that normally fitted in a 40, with her clothes had to buy a 44. This has created mental distress and it has increased the risk for mental health issues. In conclusion, this obsession with beauty is a result of the wrong standards and models that the fashion industry made us accept, but there is still hope. Nowadays more women are speaking up, they are embracing who they are and accepting that they come in different sizes. One day, nobody will be judged by her or his physical appearance anymore.