To solve the problem of traffic congestion govt should provide free public transport 24*7. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

There has been a controversy about whether free public transport 24x7 can solve the problem of traffic congestion. I think there are other solutions which are more effective. My answers will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, limiting the registration of vehicles. Take China as an example. In many Chinese cities, such as Beijing and Shanghai, not everyone can get a license plate; drivers must do a lottery or buy a license plate so as to drive legally. However, the chance of getting a license plate is not high, and the price is pricy. The reason why this policy prevails is that the government tends to control the number of vehicles in cities by controlling the number of license plates. As a result, such a policy has prevented hundreds and thousands of potential car buyers from buying a car; therefore, the problem of traffic congestion has been alleviated to a large extent. Second, setting up high parking fees in cities. In some big cities, like New York, Hongkong and Singapore, the parking fees are incredibly high if you tend to park in the city centre. Although this policy doesn't seem nice to the local residents, it lessens the issue of traffic congestion considerably. As a consequence of high parking fees, the number of vehicles on the street has reduced, and the road passing rate has been promoted substantially. With the solution of providing free public transport, there are some issues. For instance, if public transport was free, the number of passengers would increase largely. Hence, it would be crowded and uncomfortable to take the bus or train. As a consequence, many people will choose to drive again in order to stay cosy, and eventually, the problem of traffic congestion will reoccur. In conclusion, there are two main solutions and the idea of providing free public transport doesn't really work.