With the development of tourism, more and more cheap and discount flights are made available to holidaymakers. Some environmental groups claim that governments should tax air traffic more because its growth has tremendous impact on the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Since the airplane has been invented, more and more people start to travel abroad, and the capacity and volume of airplanes have become greater than before, this would cause a lot of problems such like air pollution and bird strike. With the prosperity of aviation industry, there ismore air pollution than before. Some people argue that if the government should tax more on air traffic. There are a number of factors at play, as I shall discuss below. On the one hand, some people might think it is not an effective way to tax more on air traffic, because the companies would transfer the cost to consumers, which might let the companies make more profits. Therefore, government should take other measures to avoid this situation. On the other hand, tax more on air traffic would reduce the desire of people to travel abroad, because they would face the growth of ticket prices, the cost of traveling abroad would be higher than before, in this way, the number of airplanes would decrease, and it will also reduce the accidents and air pollution caused by airplanes. And others would think that the air traffic companies should take the responsibilities for the air pollution, so it is reasonable to tax more on them. As far as I am concerned, I support government should tax air traffic more, but they should established complete laws to avoid the situations I mentioned above. Furthermore, they also can use other ways to control the air traffic, for instance, they can restrict the number of airplanes to fly abroad, in this way, people won't afraid of the increasing flying costs.