In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

In the past few years, our society has observed that many qualified professionals across the globe are lacking work. Although there are several reasons for this sad phenomenon, there are also possible actions that could be implemented to minimize this problem. The financial crisis that has reached many countries in the past years is, perhaps, one of the main reasons for unemployment among these qualified graduates. This economical recession not only did lead many businesses to close their doors but also to offer fewer positions. Furthermore, many young individuals prefer to gather more educational experience, instead of work experience. This may be a barrier when someone candidate for a job, as many companies look beyond degrees and prefer to select individuals that had worked in the field. My sister, for example, after finishing her law degree, perused a doctorate degree, and after four years, she finished her PhD with several academic articles published. Unfortunately, she was unable to find a position in a law firm, as she did not have much field experience. Some solutions could be put in place to tackle unemployment among qualified individuals. Firstly, governments could provide some incentives for many businesses that could increase the number of spots offered. Secondly, universities should create graduate programs that combine theoretical knowledge and real-life work experience. Universities, for example, could have agreements with several firms to have their students intern in their offices. This will be beneficial for students and for companies. During my undergraduate studies, for example, I had the opportunity to intern at an important advertising company. After I finished my studies, I was hired immediately by this same firm. In a nutshell, there are several possible reasons to explain why many qualified professionals are experiencing unemployment. However, as there are several solutions that may be promptly implemented, under no circumstances should governments, workers and managers give up on reducing unemployment.