The position of women has changed a great deal in many societies over the past 50 years. But these societies cannot claim to have achieved gender equality. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, modern people are more conscious of gender equality than in the past. Some people believe the rights of females are totally equal to males. However, there are still some situations which are unfair to women, especially in employment circumstances. I agree with the above statement and I will give my own explanations. First of all, companies provide inequality benefits and conditions for female employees. Although the government legislates relevant laws to protect women most companies still supply different pay to women, men and women do the same work. Additionally, employers reject hiring married women or woman who plans to have an infant lately. Because employers are unwilling to pay or keep the job position for female employees when women leave for childbirth. Secondly, companies only consider male candidates for management positions or high-level jobs. For instance, in Japan, most companies only promote male employees to work in management positions. It is obvious to see that the qualification of candidates is not dependent on personal abilities. It causes women to not organize personal career plans. Thus, getting married becomes a final target for Japanese women who are forced to give up personal careers to be a housewife because their salaries can not afford the further expenses. In conclusion, even if people have common knowledge of gender, the government sets up laws to prevent unfair situations from happening to women. While there are many companies that care more about the company's profits than respect the right of women to achieve.