To solve the problem of traffic congestion govt should provide free public transport 24*7. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, the issue of traffic congestion has been worsening in most countries in the world. To mitigate this problem, some would argue that the government should provide public transportation around the clock at no charge. In this essay, I will discuss why it is beneficial, and why I think to a certain degree, it is not the best solution to this issue. Subsidizing public transportation can be the answer to the never-ending traffic jam problem. Offering it free of charge would mean that more citizens may choose to commute via trains or buses rather than their own car, which in turn, would possibly lead to fewer vehicles on the road and therefore, lesser congestion. However, there are also other factors why I think this solution is flawed. First, having it available 24x7 could be a waste of government resources as these roads are never always congested. For instance, providing transit services late at night would incur additional costs even though the road is almost empty. Also, the success of this measure is highly dependent on the citizens' preferences. Even though it is free, there is still a possibility that one would still choose to ride on their own because they may not like the service or they do not feel safe. In conclusion, it may be logical to have the government provide free public transport always to solve the problem of traffic jams but they should thoroughly study what works best with their budget to provide the best and safest transportation service that no one can refuse.