Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Congestion and environmental issues are a huge problem in today's society, a fact that both governments and citizens alike are constantly trying to find solutions to. Raising the charge for fuel is one suggestion. One which I agree with. This essay will discuss this point, in addition to electric cars being another effective measure to consider. Firstly, hiking up the prices for diesel in an attempt to cause a positive effect on pollution and traffic is a statement I concur with. That is to say, a change of this magnitude would be considered a huge deterrence for most, therefore, forcing them to seek other means of transport, like cycling, walking and car-sharing in exchange for driving themselves to various destinations. With far fewer vehicles, the negative impacts on our roads, and the world, will surely be minimised. An example of this, in particular, is the steep rise in the sale of bicycles at Decathlon following the recent doubling of Petroleum prices. Furthermore, to answer the question, what other solutions may help? I believe the inclusion of electric cars is the natural next step. Seldom will one hear any pitfalls with regards to nature conservation when speaking about an electric motor vehicle. With the drastically lower CO2 emissions in comparison to petrol-powered motors, you simply can not go wrong. This is illustrated perfectly by a new initiative passed by the government: By 2030, the number of petrol cars manufactured will be reduced to zero. On the contrary, there will be a surge in the making of electric vehicles. To conclude, I agree with the sentiment that the most superior method to curb both natural and road backup problems is to put fuel tariffs up. As it will, therefore, encourage people to use better modes of transport, like bikes. The notion that electric cars are also the next best option is completely correct. only by reducing our CO2 emissions, and finding alternative ways to get around, will we succeed in saving our planet and our roads.