Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Nowadays the traffic is more and more congested and the pollution of the environment is on the rise because of this. People are choosing cars over public transportation or other alternative transportation solutions in order to move from one place to another, and one may be thinking that rising the price of petrol might be the solution to persuade people to not use their cars anymore. However, I disagree that rising the petrol price will be a way to solve the issues with the traffic and the pollution. Analyzing the coercive solutions will not solve the traffic and the pollution, but the stimulating or motivational solutions, as well as a better public transportation system, will prove this. Firstly, charging more for petrol will not be effective, because people will still use their car no matter how much the price will increase, instead we should use motivational or stimulating solutions in order to convince people to not get in their car anymore. For instance, it is widely known that the prices for tobacco and alcohol are rising periodically, but this is not persuading people to not use these substances anymore. Sadly, rising the price of petrol will not determine people to let their car at home, but stimulate them to let the car in the parking with a few free tickets for public transportation or giving them vouchers for acquiring alternative transportation systems such as bicycles and scooters may be a better solution in dealing with the traffic jam and environmental pollution. Therefore, this makes it clear that rising the price of petrol will not solve the traffic and the pollution. Secondly, in order to solve the traffic jams and the pollution problems, we should have a better public transportation system, in order to persuade people to choose it and not just increase the petrol prices in hope that people will renounce their cars. For example, making public transportation more available for the people (through discounted prices, better connections, more buses, trams or metros), more safely and running accroding to a schedule that is very well respected, may convince people to choose public transportation instead of their cars. Therefore it becomes apparent that just by rising the price of petrol we will not obtain fewer cars and less pollution. In conclusion, charging more for petrol and using this as a coercive measure in determining people to not use their cars instead of using motivational methods to convince people to use public transportation or alternative transportation measures is not going to solve the congested traffic and the pollution. Therefore it is clear that just rising the price of petrol will not solve these problems. After the analysis on this subject, I think that people will always choose their cars in order to get somewhere, so we have to come up with creative solutions in order to determine them to not be a part of a big traffic jam and to the pollution of our planet.