Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born. What might be the reasons for this? What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Nowadays many people would prefer to spend their entire life close to their native places may be engage in legacy business, responsibilities, lack of opportunities in other places. However, it has its own merits such as Togetherness in health and sickness and demerits like Lack of knowledge and exposure with respect to culture and lifestyle practice in other parts of country. To begin with, the major reasons around staying close to the birthplaces could be running legacy business which is limited to the local boundaries, limited opportunities in any other place and moral responsibility towards their community and family. In addition to this, individuals might have a strong sense of belongingness towards their native people, culture which they cannot leave behind. For instances, Local political leaders spend their entire life in serving their responsibilities towards their native people and community and have the same expectations from their future generations to practice the same. Hence, individuals may have a strong feeling of patriotism towards their community and family ethics which makes them remain close to their local land. Firstly, the advantages of being close to the local boundaries are sense of togetherness in health & sickness, growth of family business and strong sense of bonding with local people. To illustrate – In pandemic, local people are stood together and support each other financially, helped in arrangement of oxygen and beds in hospital wherein distant people unable to reach even on crimination of their close people. Thus, being togetherness is an enormous advantage which one should have. However, it has adverse effect as well such as lack of knowledge, limited opportunities, limited exposure with respect to the culture, lifestyle practice in other parts of the country. Moreover, it may reduce the self confidence as well. For example – Any individual who might have expertise of industry in his native area may face challenge to get a job with multi - national company within the same profile. Therefore, it is important to be aware and experience of practices conducted in other parts of the world. To conclude, it depends on the individual’s choice that whether they want to settle within the local boundaries and remain together with family and community in health and sickness which may result into lack of exposure, limited opportunities, and experience in life.