Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Some argued that students should study whatever they like in the university while others insist students are only allowed to study useful subjects in the foreseeable future. To some extent, I have to disagree with the second opinion and I am totally on the side that students can learn what they are fond of in college. The advantage of learning some non-mandatory knowledge is that it can inspire our interest in studying, not only useful subjects for our career but also some artistic subjects like fine art or music. Taking learning English as an example, most employees don't have to tackle international business, however, English is kind of a tool for people to learn the latest skills and technology in their field even though they may not benefit from English learning straightforward. There are many potential benefits for people to master this skill as well. Therefore, students should devote themselves to learning what they have an interest in. Another bonus of studying a variety of skills is that students can be more competitive in the job market after graduation and therefore, they might have more options compared to students who only studied their mandatory subjects. To be specific, human resources managers prefer candidates who are more knowledgeable. Referring to various subjects can help people become more innovative and creative in their work. So I am convinced that learners should be encouraged to master more skills they have interest in the university. To make a conclusion, educators should not eliminate students ' learning material and range, instead, adolescents in college should be supported to access more skills. In that way, students can learn knowledge more effectively and efficiently. When they step into the work, that information and skills will benefit them for a lifelong time.