Many crimes are often related to the consumption of alcohol. Some people think that the best way to reduce the crime rate is to ban alcohol. Do you think this is an effective measure against crime? What other solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, a lot of crimes are committed due to people under the influence of alcohol. Some of these offences are minor; however, others have serious consequences and can even lead to someone’s death. Therefore, the proportion of population believes that banning of alcohol can reduce the number of delinquencies. Nevertheless, I think that it is not the way out and other measures should be taken. I agree that many offences happen because of drunk individuals. Notwithstanding, alcohol does not turn people into monsters; it can only release all human desires outward and let them do things that in normal state they would be afraid to do. For instance, a person who intends to murder another individual may be too frightened of the punishment. Being drunk, he or she will not think of an aftermath of such an action, so in the normal state this person is potentially perilous for others. The only situation, when alcohol has a great impact is car accidents. Although, I am certain that they happen only because of people’s irresponsibility. In my opinion, other measures should be taken to reduce the delinquency rate. For example, perpetrators ought to be punished stricter than now. I believe that fines for exceeding the speed limit should be higher and time of imprisonment for major crimes longer. Some kinds of punishment, such as a life prison sentence are deemed too cruel, but I am sure that premeditated murders should have such a penalty. It will make people to think twice before committing an intentional offence. In conclusion, alcohol is not the reason for all troubles. I am certain that more depends on a person. Thus, higher fines and stricter punishments are a better decision to reduce the crime rate.