People who live in cities often complain about traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest ?

It an undeniable fact that individuals living in urban centres often express their concerns about traffic congestion in these areas. This essay will first of all give reasons for the causes of this and further throw more light on methods that can be employed to mitigate this problem. First and foremost, urban migration is the main cause of traffic congestion in most popular cities. People living in the hinterlands tend to migrate to the cities in other to seek greener pastures. When this is done, it increases the population rate thereby raising the demand for transport usage and the use of social amenities in urban centres. Also, the use of roads becomes narrower since these individuals indulge in street hawking which restricts the movement of cars and causes traffic jams on streets. This can be exemplified by the majority of Ghanaians moving from villages to settle in cities like Accra for survival. On the contrary, higher authorities and other non-governmental organizations should work collaboratively to establish numerous jobs in the rural area to prevent the inhabitants from travelling to cities in pursuit of jobs. This when done will ease the traffic congestion in developed cities. Additionally, the government together with the roads commission should expand the already existing roads and build more carriageways in order to make movement easier,faster and more convenient. For instance, the creation of myriad jobs in deprived areas will enable the majority of the unemployed youth to secure a decent job in their locality thereby preventing congestion in the urban centres. In conclusion, overpopulation is the main problem causing traffic jams in developed cities. However, the creation of jobs and the expansion of roads are effective methods that can be used to curtail this menace.