Science tells us that some activities are good for our health, while some others are bad. Despite knowing that, millions of people all over the world continue with unhealthy activities. Why do you think this is the case and what might be done to change this?

Scientific research has grown exponentially in this decade.Many trials show that people should avoid unhealthy activities like smoking, a sedentary lifestyle, excess salt and carbohydrates intake and too much alcohol consumption. However,an increased proportion of the population sticks to these practices due to various reasons that I would discuss in the subsequent paragraphs and would also dilate upon the measures to counter these negative tendencies. There are a number of reasons for the masses to indulge in adverse practices. First of all, the stress of the job and at home creates unrest and some folks tend to relieve it by smoking or by drinking alcohol. Secondly, there are scores of fast food chains in the markets that provide junk foods. For example, KFC, Macdonald and similar franchises are available in every city.Due to easy availability and increased ingestion of such food items, there is a net weight gain, hence, leading to diseases such as Diabetes Mellitus, Hypertension and so on. Thirdly, advertisements showing attractive models smoking cigarettes and drinking beverages also incline people towards these malpractices. Moreover, the lack of parks and sports facilities is one of the factors determining the level of physical activity performed by individuals. For instance, we had a number of playgrounds near our house which used to attract the whole town for sports but the rapidly expanding population and houses have led to a decline in these facilities, hence, forcing kids to resort to indoor games. In addition, governments seem to be lacking the will to formulate laws related to population control and the preservation of recreational places. Last but not the least, rising inflation is also pushing the masses to work extra hours with inadequate sleep so as to meet the family's demands. Unhealthy activities can be curbed by various measures.These include stern government laws like banning pubs, imposing increased taxes on soft drinks and fast food items, controlling inflation and regulating office timings so as to relieve the stress on the community.Over and above these steps, media can also play a vital role in promoting good habits and discouraging harmful acts. For example, highlighting the diseases caused by smoking including lung cancer rather than glorifying the people who smoke could be a game changer. In conclusion, ill practices in a society have a myriad of causes which can be tackled through collective efforts of individuals and law-making bodies.