In education and employment, some people work harder than others. Why do some people work harder? Is it always a good thing to work hard?

It is true that both some students and employees work harder than others, this essay will outline the reason behind this. Also, in my opinion, it's hard for me to say this is a positive development all the time. At the outset, there could be various causes for which individuals like to work harder. On the one hand, some people believe that a higher academic qualification is the only means to lead a better life because students who have more education experiences certainly have more opportunities to get more decent jobs and higher salaries in the employment market. Thus students who advocate this idea usually study harder than the others. On the other hand, due to the rapid pace of modern societies, many citizens are under great stress, such as competitive pressures, unemployment rate, as well as the cost of living. Accordingly, many employees are extremely industrious at work in order to get more job security and opportunities for promotion. Although hardworking people can easily have access to more opportunities than others, there are also some drawbacks. First of all, people who only concentrate on their careers tend to ignore maintaining good interpersonal relationships with the others, such as their friends and family members. As a result, this trend could cause a gap between people. Moreover, many scientists say that it would cause health problems if students and employees are under long-term stress. On the whole society scale, this would result in more burden on health care for the government. In conclusion, Although there is no argument that diligence is significant for people to lead a decent lifestyle in modern societies, there are also many obvious disadvantages if people only pay attention to their studies and work.