Some people say history is one the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is the power of thinking and also learning that distinguishes humankind from other living existences. Whether history or science and technology should be considered more crucial at schools has been a matter of controversy. Personally speaking, the more diverse the range of our knowledge, the faster our society advances. So, all of them are needed to be taught. On the one hand, today’s modern lifestyle would not exist had technology not emerged decades ago. In other words, the reason we could turn our ancestors’ dreams into the reality of our everyday lives today is the science that has developed throughout human history. For instance, treatment of incurable illnesses by newly emerged surgical techniques or purchasing from a company in another nation using online stores can be fine examples demonstrating the value science and technology have added to our lives. On the other hand, what we learn in history classes can be the most reliable knowledge to build our future. The reason is hidden in the fact that history has a nature of repeating over and over. Consequently, the future could be predicted by studying the past. However, the human being does not always make the most out of what is present to him. In this regard, there is a quote that says we learn from history and do not learn from history. In conclusion, I wholeheartedly believe that both types of knowledge are required, and schools must focus on them equally. We need to build our future with the help of technology based on the lessons learned from history.