Some employers offer their employees subsidised membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make the stuff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. Consider the arguments from both aspects of this possible debate, and reach a conclusion.

Being healthy and effective at work often benefits one. Few employers believe that giving discounts on enrollment to employees leads to more efficiency as well as makes them more healthy. On the other hand, however, it is argued that this strategy seems to be helpless. This essay will discuss both views from a different perspective and also suggest a conclusion to it. There are numerous reasons why giving subsidised participation in either gyms or sports would be good in some way. First of all, it would help them to be actively involved in gyms and sports, which would help them develop completely physically and mentally. For example, McDonaldDonald's pays 50% of gym enrollment for their full-time employees, so that everyone is healthy enough to handle fast pace environment. Moreover, a recent report suggests that by doing so, effectiveness has increased by 70 per cent in a few months. Secondly, employees can save a massive amount of money, which helps them use it for other things like groceries and other stuff. Controversially, it is also believed by a large group of employers that in this way, they are just wasting their funds and giving employees ways to get unexpected leaves throughout the year. For instance, Red Swan Pizza has sent nearly a million dollars for providing enrollment and in the, end there seems to be no increase in productivity and this resulted in more no-shows than the previous year. To conclude, by looking at both aspects, I would suggest that a company should monitor thoroughly by giving subsidised participation and if they get positive results they should continue giving it and if there is no good outcome they should discontinue.