Some people think that employers should not be concerned about how employees dress at work, but the quality of work only. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

How people dress at work place has long been a source of controversy. Some people believe that this is a personal choice that has nothing to do with employees. They claim the quality of work is far more important. I partially agree with this notion. To begin with, I totally agree that workers' knowledge, experience and skills are decisive to a company's accomplishments. For example, market leaders like Google, Microsoft and Apple would have never prospered that much if they had chosen their staff members based on what they wear, instead of their strong resumes. Thus, work quality ought to be always the first priority of business leaders in employment decisions. However, this does not mean that employees can have a hundred per cent freedom in what they wear. On the other hand, as long as staff members may come from different social levels, enforcing uniforms can establish a sense of uniformity among members. For example, if a rich team member wears luxury designer clothing, He may not only impose a feeling of superiority on other members, but also may eradicate the other's self-esteem. Secondly, wearing cosy clothes like pyjamas at work place can trigger an ambience of informality, which results in not doing the job seriously and efficiently. Thus, it can be a good idea to impose some restrictions on what employees wear at work. To conclude, I believe that the importance of team members ' capabilities had better not be overshadowed by inferior factors like dressing. However, establishing some policies regarding professional dressing might be a wise choice.