Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

According to some, tourism has a great influence on uplifting the economy, while some argue that because of accessive tourism, local people and the environment has negatively affected. This essay will discuss some of the benefits and even drawbacks of foreign people visiting different places and also suggests my opinion. On the one hand, tourism has benefited society in tremendous ways. As it creates opportunities for the local people to sell old and antique items by displaying them to visitors, by these ways many families have generated income to move above the poverty line. In the end, this has increased the economy indirectly. Moreover, a massive amount of nations are still totally dependent on excessive tourism. For instance, India has significantly increased the economy by 52% just because of welcoming foreign people. On the other hand, it has some disadvantages to people as well as to the environment. Firstly, a lot of tourist places are overcrowded and this generates thrash all around the way. Local inhabitants sometimes experience a sense of discrimination because of skin colour and traditional ways to live life. Secondly, because of plenty of people visiting, there is an increase in demand for using personal taxis and cabs, which emits dangerous gases and eventually cause pollution throughout the nation. For example, In India adults are suffering from cough and dangerous diseases because of pollution. To conclude, by looking closely, I firmly believe that there is a more negative side to excessive tourism and very few benefits.