Some businesses now say that no one can smoke cigarettes in any of their offices. Some governments have banned smoking in all public places. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons.

In recent years, some businesses and governments started to restrict the place in which people usually smoked, such as offices and some public areas. I firmly agree with this policy, and this essay is going to discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this issue. On the one hand, people who have an addiction to smoking would feel inconvenient about this policy. For example, they could directly smoke in the office or on the street before; however, they now have to find another place to relax themselves rather than smoke wherever they want. In addition, people who have mental or physical problems need to use cigarettes to maintain their health conditions. Research has shown that smoking can help people to control their weight, so it would cause some trouble if the government banned smoking. On the other hand, most people hate the smell of cigarettes, especially secondhand one. Many reports have also shown that secondhand smoke is the culprit of a lot of diseases such as cancer and lung problems. Moreover, by restricting smoking places, we can also reduce the number of cigarette butts. For instance, we can put some trash cans in the smoking places, when they finish smoking they can throw cigarette butts into the trash cans instead of tossing them on the street. In conclusion, as far as I am concerned, I support that the government should legislate and ban smoking in all public sites so do businesses because they should prevent people from the harm of secondhand cigarettes. In this way, we can reduce the risk of getting some serious illnesses.