Many parents complain that computer games have no value to their children's study. On the contrary, those online games have produced a lot of negative effects on their mental and physical development. What is your opinion?

Nowadays, as it is easier for children to have access to computers and to play computer games, parents are concerned that computer games cannot help with children's study,but may bring damage to teenagers' minds and bodies. However, I personally think that if the play-time can be properly supervised, students may benefit from gaming. Computer games sometimes can be addictive for young people and lead to negative impacts on their studies. Computer games use intense competitions and easily achievable tasks to keep the players in games as long as possible. Since teenagers lack self-control over temptations, they tend to chase momentary satisfaction brought by the games than study, thus spending less time learning and preparing for their exams. As a result, students will have terrible academic performance when spending too much time on gaming. However, important skills can also be gained while playing games. To begin with, lots of multiplayer games require cooperation between teammates. Children will improve their ability to efficiently communicate with others and to manage tasks accordingly in team play, thus having a better performance in school group assignments. In addition, concentration is an essential part of some games to win, children's brains can be trained to focus on tasks more easily. In conclusion, depending on play-time and type, computer games can have both positive and negative impacts on teenagers' development. It is the parent's responsibility to help children manage their game and study time properly.