In many cities, problems related to overpopulation are becoming more common. Some governments are now encouraging businesses and individuals to move out of cities to rural areas. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

It has been pointed out that the issues which are caused by overpopulation are getting common in most parts of the world, and several politicians are motivating local companies and ordinary people to move from city centres to regional areas. Personally, I opine that this circumstance is extremely detrimental to our environment, which surpasses the benefit in terms of people’s health. Admittedly, relocating to rural areas is beneficial to citizens’ mental well-being. This is because compared with the rat-race speed of life in cities, the working style in the countryside is relaxing due to the lack of workforce and competition. If professional workers with a great deal of experience are willing to reside in a regional area, they are far more likely to live in a slow-paced atmosphere, thus contributing to their mental health. For instance, Geelong, which is a small town next to Melbourne, was facing a shortage of professional lawyers and accountants. In order to resolve the overpopulation problem in Melbourne, the Victorian government persuaded young professionals to reside in this small town. As a result of this, a vast majority of office workers who have been living there for one year mention that thanks to the relaxing working style in Geelong, they no longer suffer from mental issues such as depression and anxiety. Nevertheless, despite the benefit above, emigrating to the countryside will bring a massive problem to environmental protection. The reason is that with the increase in the number of residents and factories in rural areas, the demand for accommodation is rising, so the general public has to convert natural woodland into their living space, which is incredibly harmful to the local environment. For example, owing to the overpopulation problem in Shanghai, the authorities inspire a huge percentage of retired old generations and local organizations to reside in the regional area around Shanghai, which leads to real estate companies have been constructing apartments in rural locations that used to be forests, thus causing a huge detriment to environmental conservation. In conclusion, people may vary in their opinion about whether the drawbacks of people and corporations relocating to a regional location exceed its advantages, while I am of the opinion that this trend raises a significant environmental issue, which extremely outweighs the benefit regarding people’s mental condition.