A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, some people tend to show off their materialistic purchases. However, these people are respected more by the society than those who have a good heart. I completely agree that people no longer value trust and kindness, instead they appreciate those who own expensive things. Those who have a high societal status are appreciated more. For example, a municipality engineer will help people design their roads and houses, being a servant of the society. Even if the engineer has a bad attitude or does not complete the town's important tasks on time, people will still follow him because eventually he is the one who gets their work done. Same applies for a politician; no matter how corrupt he is, he will be highly respected because of his rank in the society. Thus, people value a person who is among the high ranks in spite of their bad personality. People these days respect those who own a fancy possession instead of a simple one. For an instance, most of the people have a huge respect for those who drive a car but belittle those who own a motorbike or no vehicle at all. If I have own a four wheeler, people will befriend me but they won't even want to get to know me if I don't own one. So, people judge others according to their materialistic possessions. In conclusion, I agree with the opinion that people no longer care about the moral characteristics like honesty and trust but value those who have a good status in the society and those who own expensive products.