Due to the development and the expansion of supermarkets many small, local markets are unable to compete. some people think that the clossing off local businesses will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In our modern society supermarkets have multiplied on all corners of the world and become a necessity for grocery shopping. The variety of products available coupled with unbeatable prices only helped their popularity rise. But this success came at the expense of local businesses that can no longer compete with these shopping giants. On one hand some might find giant shopping centers more affordable and time efficient. First these giant markets made groceries less time-consuming. As all daily used products such as food, toiletries or cleaning products are available in one place, grocery shopping became a quicker and less energy-draining chore to do. In contrary to local markets where a person has to go from shop to shop in order to get everything done. Second supermarkets offer unbeatable fees on a wide variety of products thanks to fair competition and the availability of merchandise from all around the world. And lastly we can find a wide range of exotic and uncommon products in just one place. This is even more interesting for people living in foreign countries who desire a little taste of home. On the other hand local markets represent a sustainable and eco-friendly way of shopping. First local shops are majority owned by folks living in the same community and it is a duty as a member of this community to encourage and buy from these small businesses. Second these markets while having higher prices, usually offer better quality products organically made and with fewer chemicals and GMOs. Finally it is more environmentally friendly to shop at local markets as the merchandise sold is for the majority of the time locally sourced and not imported by extremely polluting boats and planes from foreign countries. To summarize even though supermarket's popularity has been on the rise lately thanks to the diversity of products available at lower fees, local markets still represent a more sustainable and environment-friendly way of shopping. In my opinion I do not think that supermarkets are on their way to making local shops a thing of the past since people are becoming more and more aware of the negative impact these grocery giants have on our already fragile environment and also on small businesses owners who can only make a living thanks to the solidarity of the people in their community.