The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

It is true that a rise in production leads to a wide range of environmental problems. There are many steps which can be taken by governments and individuals to deal with this issue. Producing excessive products has a significantly negative impact on our planet. Many reasons cause this case. First of all, for the sake of making more profit, many companies are producing goods as much as they can, this puts extremely great pressure on natural resources. For example, plenty of rainforests which are vital to stabilize climate change are destroyed to make paper. At the same time, due to a lack of supervision, many factories, which use fossil fuel energy, pay no attention to limiting the emission of greenhouse gases, as a result, the more products they produce, the more they contribute to global warming. Lastly, From a personal perspective, the promotion of new products encourages consumers to update and replace their commodities frequently, this may cause more hazardous substances to be discharged into the natural environment. However, there are many steps that governments and individuals could take to tackle these problems. Firstly, authorities can introduce laws to reduce the emission of waste air, such as increasing taxes on the use of coal and oil, in this way, plants can be forced to manage to use green energy. Furthermore, providing subsidies can be seen as a means to encourage companies to invest in researching alternative materials, in order to avoid the excessive consumption of natural resources. Lastly, an essential solution is to educate people about the importance of protecting the natural environment, accordingly, consumers may think twice when they make the purchase. In conclusion, governments and individuals can do much more to avoid unnecessary production and to protect our planet.