Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A very clear trend and a major highlight in how the society has been changing recently is the ageing of the population in developed countries. Despite all the measures that the governments have been introducing, soon there will be more old people around than youngsters. I find that a truly negative and even scarying scaring tendency. One of the basic foundations of the modern society is the retirement age, which enables the elderly to prolong the active periods of their lives, instead of working to their deaths. The lower percentage of young capable people leads to the need for the old people to retire later than their health allows. Consequently, they cannot look after their grandkids, which in its turn makes the young parents less productive at work, creating even more demand for labour. The recent decline of the average happiness levels is an example symptom of this problem. In addition to preventing members of all generations from enjoying their lives, the growing percentage of the elderly, unless addressed soon, will lead to even more disastrous consequences. Being too busy with work due to aforementioned factors, young people are not willing to raise enough children to support the current norms, which will eventually result in the complete cancellation of the retirement age and pensions. It is not theoretic, for instance, it has been proven that this kind of chain reaction is taking place in such countries as Japan. In conclusion, there is an enormous issue in old people becoming the majority. Besides being the danger to the status quo in the societal norms, it will eventually become a threat to the humanity in general. Reversing this tendency is only in the power of the lawmakers.