Nowadays, more people would rather purchase food than cook at home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In our modern society, food is one of the major topics that is talked in social media. Humankind has a choice in how to get the food. Currently, more and more people are choosing to buy food rather than make it at their home. Purchasing food would certainly be more practical, but there will also be some drawbacks. There are some advantages of buying meals. First and foremost, it is more efficient instead of cooking, suitable for people with hectic activities. In today’s world, they could order and purchase their selected food via an online application, such as Go Food or Grab Food. Another benefit of purchasing cuisine is support the economic growth in food and beverage sector. Restaurants and cafes which provide menus of food can get the profit and pay taxes to the government. However, every coin has two sides and despite all of the advantages, there are some drawbacks too. Firstly, they can not ensure the hygiene of the food and kitchen, the number of calories, and the ingredients. As a consequence, they may get diarrhea or any diseases that is caused by bacteria from the meals that they have bought. Therefore, purchasing food may be not suitable for health conscious. One of another disadvantage is the higher price. Most of food providers must be pay rent fee, employee, and operational fee in their business. It impacts to the total price that is given to consumers. In my personal experience, I bought a pizza from Pizza Hut with price IDR 100,000, while if I make it by myself, it would be only IDR 50,000. In conclusion, while there are plus points to purchasing food instead of cooking at home, there are disadvantages as well. On balance, I believe that consumers could choose to purchase food when they want to try new menus and feel convenient this way.