Most Children want to watch the same TV programmes or play the same video games as their friends. Do you think parents should allow their children to do this ?

A lot of children copy their friends' likes in TV programmes or video games. There are some reasons why I believe parents should not allow their children to do this. Namely, they may watch and play unsuitable programs and plays, it is assumed they do not learn to make choices and always want to copy their friends' tastes. However, some people have different points of view that will be discussed in the following essay. Watching and playing the same as their mate have some drawbacks for children. Initially, those entertainments may not be good for their age and also may contain violent scenes and concepts that have harmful effects on their minds. For instance, some video games are full of violence. In addition, they may persuade children to copy them. Additionally, they will not learn to make choices because they copy their friends' likes and never make decisions for themselves, thus it could reduce their self-confidence. On the other hand, it is believed that parents should allow their children to do it because firstly they are at the age that want to experience the peers' group's entertainment and if parents forbid them they may watch and play those types of movies and games without their parents knowing. Secondly, they are likely to be separated from their classmates because they can not participate in their discussions about those kinds of hobbies. In conclusion, because of the bad effects that may cause by those programmes and plays, parents should not allow their children to choose them without thinking.