Plastic containers have become more prevalent than ever. They are used in many businesses such as in the food and beverage sector. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

There has been a tendency for restaurants and coffee shops to use plastic containers to store food and beverage. I deem that the benefits of this trend will prevail over the pitfalls over time. On the one hand, some argue that the consumption of plastic containers can detrimentally impact the environment. It is because plastic wastes take years to decompose, and during that process, it often fills up the space in landfills. As a result, the air and land are polluted, the soil is eroded, and the living space is increasingly insufficient. However, with the advancement of technology, plastic has become recyclable. To reduce the negative impact of plastic trash, governments can regulate policies to categorise plastic as recyclable to reduce the amount of general waste from plastic dumped into the environment. On the other hand, many merits are associated with using plastic containers. Firstly, they are clean and steady compared to paper bags. For example, customers can order the food from their places, and the restaurant can store the food in plastic containers without spilling it all over for delivery. Furthermore, it is considered more economical for businesses to use plastic bags as they are cheaper but as productive compared to others made from more expensive materials like steel. A final benefit is an environmentally friendly aspect since glass bottles cannot be recycled while plastic ones are capable of recycling. In conclusion, with the aforementioned, I believe that the increasing use of plastic containers for food businesses consists of many positive effects and should be continually encouraged.