Science tells there are activities that are good for health. However, some people still continue unhealthy eating habits. Why us this? So, what can be done?

Despite the fact that people of the modern era are well aware of good and bad health practices, many of them indulge in activities that are detrimental to health. The major reason behind this phenomenon is the hectic schedule of people and this problem can be solved by government motivation. This essay intends to delve into the causes and solutions of this phenomenon. To commence with, although people know that eating home-cooked meals and exercising regularly is vital for their health, they do not follow these practices. This is mainly because they do not find enough time for the same. To explicate, in today's materialistic world, most people want to have all the luxuries, for which they have to work for long hours. This, as result, leaves them with no time to cook themselves or go to the gymnasium. For instance, the majority of multinational companies highly pay their employees but require them to work for 12 hours a day. Due to this sedentary lifestyle, individuals end up consuming readily available junk food and avoiding exercise, which takes a toll on the employees' health. The solutions are not simple, mainly because individuals indulge in those activities, despite knowing that they are bad for them. The higher authorities should motivate the masses to resort to riding bicycles as they are a good form of exercise. This could be done by maintaining proper bicycle lanes. This would encourage masses to commute by cycle, therefore, keeping them fit. For example, in Chandigarh, every road has separate tracks for bicycles, as a result, most citizens have adopted cycles as their favourite means of transport for travelling within the city. Furthermore, junk foods such as pizza and burgers should be made dearer by the government so that their consumption is cut down. In conclusion, it is indubitable that unhealthy activities are being done even after knowing that they are bad for health. However, some steps can be taken by the government to change people's lifestyles and promote physical exercise and healthy eating habits.