In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many people go to universities to acquire skill and knowledge, hoping to eventually get a good placement. But not all graduates, despite getting good grades, find themselves employed. This essay will discuss the main causes of this and present my opinion on what can be done to reduce the rate of unemployment among the graduates. There are many factors that contribute to the unemployment of college and university pass-outs. First one is the highly questionable traditional teaching practice in the grad schools, which is not sufficient to land a job after a course is finished. They do not employ modern research based and software based techniques, which deter graduates from a place in a reputable company. For example, the companies in Nepal are in search of people who can do research on hydropower feasibility but the most popular institution Pulchowk campus offers a degree in civil engineering based on theory only without any site-based practical or research facilities. As a result, the graduates cannot get a position in those companies. Another factor is the admission of too many students in one subject, resulting in more graduates than needed for a country. For example, Nepal government demands only about 150 civil engineers in a year but admits more than 2000 in their engineering colleges. Because of this, many graduates remain unemployed. In my opinion, to overcome this, practical-based study should be included in the syllabus that results in fulfilment of the demand of today's companies. For an instance, if the government includes a research-focused hydrological study in its course of civil engineering, graduates will have skill to build water-related structures that will attract the owners of hydropower companies. This results in more employment for highly qualified graduates. In conclusion, lack of modern approach in the related subjects and higher admissions than required are the main factors that contribute to unemployment among the graduates. This can be solved if more field-related studies are covered in the respective courses.