26. In many workplaces, online communication is now more common than face-to-face meetings. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Communicating by using technology is enjoying an upsurge of popularity among young individuals in recent years. This situation has surely brought about benefits and drawbacks and these are discussed in this essay. One obvious benefit of this scenario is that with the help of technology, we can save plenty of our time due to the fact that such matters about geographical distance can be addressed. By this I mean, we do not need to travel to our workplaces and also do not have to maintain a strict schedule. For example, those employers who came from long distance areas would be benefited from the virtual meeting; and female worker having a newborn baby can join the online meeting without any worries as they are working from home. Another important advantage that needs to be taken into account is that online communication is helping our environment in an indirect way. To clarify, when we are talking virtually, we do not need to commute, so that helps in a great way to ease traffic flow. Moreover, we do not need to use our cars or motorbikes to commute, by doing that we can also save our precious fossil fuel and reduce the carbon footprints. Unfortunately, on the other hand, virtual meetings could also be detrimental in terms of lacking interpersonal relationships. To be more specific, during a face-to-face meetings, people would share and discuss the concerning topics and bond with each other, thus strengthening their interpersonal relationships, compared to the limitation of actions in online meetings. Another negative aspect is the technical errors or poor internet network in which some participants being in a low internet signal areas might stay, thus raising an unpleasant effect on those people. To sum up, with all its merits and demerits, this situation can exert a double-edged impact on our lives. Therefore, it is suggested that we need to be fully aware of all the pitfalls and unhappiness that are associated with it before any necessary action can be taken to avoid negative consequences. On the other hand, I would like to argue that the downsides described above are eclipsed by a variety of positive points.