Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others think they should only be allowed subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

What subjects should children learn in their schools? Is there something relevant to their own interest or something beneficial to their future? This problem always sparks a heated discussion in society. But in my opinion, students should study the subjects which will be useful in a few years. The main reason I support this idea is that this will definitely benefit to both individuals and society. For children, being taught subjects associated with their future careers means they will have more likely hood to work in suitable fields after graduating. For example, those who major in finance or economy are likely to find well-paid jobs in banks or stoke companies. Besides, for the country, if there are more people with adequate knowledge related to science, technology and medicine, there are more professionals in our society. Consequently, our living word will develop faster and better because of their efforts. Some may argue that students should be allowed to learn whatever they are interested in, or they will not show their whole talent. But the fact is that our society does not have so much and so diverse positions for them to earn their livings. For instance, some people desire to learn abstract painting in their colleges for they have a dream of becoming a successful artist like Picasso. However, when they graduate they probably find there are neither no places for them to take jobs nor others to buy their works because they have not already become famous. In a word, this can have bad influence on individuals' future. In conclusion, I believe that university students are better to exposed to useful subjects in their campus which will bring advantages to their life and our country, instead of just allowing them to study whatever they like.