Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

A few authorities demand their employees to be in touch at any time, regardless their day of rest. Although company will pay you more for the extra time and effort, disadvantages of it outweigh advantages that, the leisure time with family gets reduced and employees will be more frustrated. On one hand, being available to report to the senior managers will bring benefits. The administration will offer more pay and seasonal gifts to their team to make them available on several situations. This will help the employee to earn more and to lead a life with high standards. Hence, each of them will be more recognized by the others. For example: production and sales firms or multi-national companies like Google, Facebook, Wipro, and all, give increments and incentives according to the performance and availability on call. Therefore, employees are more interested to work in multiple shifts as well as they will show up to their officials’ calls at any time and cost. On the other hand, even though it will increase the rapport between them, and can earn more, its drawbacks stay high. Firstly, frequent calls and enquiries will lead the staffs to become irritated. As a result, their concentration towards the work reduces and will reflect the outcome in an opposite manner. Secondly, the team members will have only less time to spend with their family. Their children will miss the time playing with their parents at the park, a film, or a dinner together. For instance: divorce rates at metropolitan cities are increasing rapidly where there exists no space for personal conversations. In short, demerits are more for being very responsive to authorities. In conclusion, it is evident that drawbacks like less family time and frustration, outweighs the merits like more pay in a scenario where the higher officials need their subordinates to be available upon a ring, despite of their leave days.