Today family members eat fewer meals together. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Thanks to the modernization of social life, people tend to spend less time for their family which creates a trend that they have fewer meals with their family members than in the past. This trend shows a definite amount of benefits but there are also some drawbacks. On the one hand, it is generally accepted that more and more people chose not to have meals with their family brings about several merits. First and foremost, since eating alone are less time -consuming, people will have more time to do their scheduled work, focus on their career and take part in many social activities. For example, a student who donot don't spend time eating meals with other family members is able to do more homework and join clubs that gives him opportunity to make new friends. Another admitted strength is that in this fast-paced world, many individuals decide to follow solitary lifestyle and totally put their mind on their personal life. They can build more interpersonal relationship and invest for their hobbies. On the other side of the fence, there are as well several negative aspects related to this trend. A major minus point worth considering here is that people may lose the feelings of togetherness in family. Meals that are eaten together are tastier as it solidifies the connections between each family members and likely to reduce stress after long hour of working. To clarify, in Viet Nam, there is a longstanding tradition of having meals together which help strengthen the collaboration among siblings or son with parents. One more common disadvantage is that people do not have nutrition meal when eating alone. Also, eating too fast worsen the digestive system which leads to many physical as well as mental health disorders. In conclusion, there are some merits in eating without family members including contribute more relationship and less time consumption. However, the downside would emerge consequently in terms of losing the connection between family member and negative aspects for health.