The position of women has changed a great deal in many societies over the past 50 years. But these societies cannot claim to have achieved gender equality. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been observed that the situation of women has been improved since 1970. However, some people argue that these changes are not sufficient for them to be deemed equal with men. As I will explain below, I believe that we should continue our efforts to contribute to more equality, in order to reach it. First of all, according to several statistics, women are paid less than men for the same job and qualification. This inequality is therefore unjustified. In order to unbalance the situation, some governments have recently introduced quotas within the administration or national companies. The compliance with such rules may, however, lead to positive discrimination by recruiting unqualified women, and finally results in more inequality. Furthermore, the lack of equality is emphasized by the very low number of women as chairman or member of the board of directors of listed companies. Indeed, in many developed countries it has been proven that it is more difficult for women, with the same qualification as men, to find a job with high responsibilities, which can have a negative impact on their salary as explained above. The reason is that due to the risk of pregnancy, employers usually prefer to enrol a man rather than a woman for high level job. In order to reduce this inequality, we shall introduce, or at least extend, father’s parental leave. In conclusion, due to the fact that men receive higher wages and have more chance to achieve a better career, I strongly argue that our societies have not yet reached sex equality. Nevertheless, we should stress on the improvement on the women condition over the last decades, which shall continue.