The question... Nowadays many people change jobs quite regularly rather than working in one company for their entire careers. 1. Why do you think this is happening ? 2. How can companies keep their workers?

In recent times, it is observed that people are changing employment rather frequently instead of remaining the employee of an organisation for the rest of their professional life. This could be because of poor staff welfare and for business establishments to retain their employees, modalities should be in place to take care of workers and their families. Several business establishments today are profit-oriented, only paying their employees meagre salaries. Because of this, workers ' welfare is usually seen as secondary, with the gains they would make being primary. Many workers pass through a lot of stress and pains, not only to reach remote workplaces but also need to persevere under poor working conditions and since these situations do not often improve in numerous circumstances, they have to leave such jobs and seek solace elsewhere. A good illustration is Lagos State, Nigeria, where companies are sited on the Island while workers have to endure the hustle and bustle of Lagos life to overcome the hectic transportation network and expensive transport fares in the State to get to work. Unfortunately, companies do not make provisions for these in workers ' pay such that many go home with mere stipends and have to quit their jobs eventually. Turning to steps that can help business corporations retain their workers, putting in place incentives outside the regular earnings of workers would be effective. This could involve incorporating some allowances for housing, feeding, transportation, and accommodation into workers ' wages such that, those receiving monthly wages, would have a sizeable amount to take home eventually to cater for their families. This scheme is presently in vogue in many major cities across Nigeria and has been proven effective for companies to keep their workers under contract. To conclude, people are moving from one job to another due to substandard workers ' welfare packages by many companies. Business firms can retain their workers by improving their general working conditions both in the short and long term.