Natural resources such as oil, forests and fresh water are being consumed at an increasing rate. What problems does this cause? How can they be solved?

We are now faced with the problems of resource shortage, as oil, forests and fresh water are being used at a faster rate. They have negative effects on the environment and health of people. We should take measures to solve these problems. To begin with, over-exploitation of the fossil and oil cause pollutions. Oil leakage and spill during production and transport are extremely detrimental to the local ecosystem. Furthermore, there are increased amount of car fumes due to expansion in the oil consumptions. Studies show that city residents are more likely to suffer from asthma and allergic rhinitis because of air pollutions. Secondly, vast forests have been cut down to make products like paper and furnitures. Dessertification and global warming are the consequences of deforestation. As a result, people might lose their homes as they encounter with extreme weather including sand storm, hurricanes due to climate change. In addition, many people are living with shortage of clean water, so they are more likely to suffer from infectious diseases. It is the liability of both government and individuals to tackle down these problems. Firstly, the government should reduce the dependence on fossil oil, while introduce clean energy, including solar energy, wind energy and hydroelectric power. People should be encouraged to use electric cars to reduce carbon consumption. When commuting daily, individuals can choose public transport frequently. Therefore, greenhouse emissions will decrease and the air quality will increase significantly. Secondly, government should introduce laws to preserve clean water resources, for instance, companies and fatories will be fined for wasting water in production. In this way, residents can have access to clean water without suffering from water shortage. In conclusion, the over-consumption of oil, forests and fresh water cause pollutions and jeporadize human survival. Both the government and individuals should take the responsibility to preserve natural resources and use more clean energy instead.