Governments should be responsible for funding and controlling scientific research rather than private organizations. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that fundamental research should be funded from public budgets and controlled by the state, whereas other people are proponents of handing this responsibility over to businesses. I strongly agree with the traditional approach of the governmental control over developments in science. Only governments are by nature interested in financially covering the whole range of existing scientific topics, due to some of these topics not being of any interest to businesses. Even if a research sphere does not have substantial potential to generate profits or economic growth, it is still important that scientists get appropriately compensated and provided with tools and technologies that they need. For instance, despite novel results in archaeology being unlikely to generate any return on investment, it is still an important area to fund. Financing by the government also implies full control over other aspects of the lifecycle of scientific research. The most important is to make sure that the leadership at universities, institutes and academies only use results of researches for public good, as opposed to for aiding big businesses. If the government is not in control, there is a possibility that international companies misuse these results, generating profits for themselves and harming the humanity in general. Recently, during the global pandemic, a few big pharma companies failed to provide access to their developments globally. This resulted in many extra thousands of deaths, but at the same time it also made their bosses rich. In conclusion, only funding and management by governments can make scientific research prosper and bring the best to the society.