As most people spend a part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers

People often consider salary expectations, working hours, and location before officially accepting a position. However, for some, the most important factor in the decision-making process is the likelihood of job satisfaction. While there are many reasons a career can be satisfying, it is unlikely that everyone will find one they truly enjoy. There are a lot of reasons why one would be satisfied with their job. Primarily, people enjoy jobs that make them feel passionate. For example, people who love working with animals could get a sense of contentment from being a veterinarian, while those who love working with children would enjoy teaching in a classroom. Secondly, people feel a sense of enjoyment in their jobs when they are able to do something that contributes to society. Surgeons who work in Emergency Rooms, for example, endeavour gruelling hours and spend the majority of their time at the hospital. However, the work is satisfying because these surgeons are saving lives and making a lasting impact on society. Although there are many ways to find job satisfaction, there are also various reasons why some populations may never achieve it, thus making it unlikely for many employees. Firstly, some communities have limited career options and may not be able to find a position that matches their interests or skills. This may be due to a lack of relevant qualifications, or because the field is too competitive. Further, people who focus solely on maximizing their income may fail to find job fulfilment. For instance, single parents may be forced to accept a position solely based on income in order to support a family, rather than the passion or satisfaction in that area of work. It is unlikely that everyone will achieve job satisfaction due to outside circumstances, but it is possible for people to achieve it through hard work and dedication. Perhaps those who strive to make a lasting impact on society are one step closer to finding job amusement.